☠️ Can you kill my business please?

PLUS: New AI features from Hubspot, Slack, Miro, Brex

Hey there 👋

Welcome to Product Prompts where I demystify AI for product people, with actionable prompts, cool new tools and product inspiration.

In today’s edition:

  • How to use ChatGPT to simulate a competitor’s strategic reactions to kill off your product

  • How Hubspot, Miro and Slack have integrated GPT-3

  • A better UI for ChatGPT

  • and more 👇

I’m Martin of Product Prompts. I’ve co-founded multiple startups (fintechs) and led corporate ventures, and now offer product strategy consultancy services, including helping forward-thinking clients with the knowledge, tools and training to figure out their AI strategy for their products and internal workflows. Get in touch to learn about how I could help you.

💬 Prompt Deep-dive: Kill my business

A useful exercise in any stage of a product is to play “Kill my startup”. You simulate being your #1 competitor, and try to do everything in your power to remove the threats from your product.

The result is the top-rated weak spots of your product, service, process, department, or organization and possible attacks. These are the most likely points where known or unknown competitors could attack and KILL your business.

We can use ChatGPT to put itself in the shoes of a competitor, to accelerate the creativity.

I have a startup idea and I want you to act as a competitor, identifying all the flaws in the idea and taking whatever action you feel is necessary to make my startup irrelevant. You are highly Machiavellian and will stop at nothing to retain your company's market dominance.

Do you understand your role? I will describe my idea, then you'll identify a game plan for how you will kill my startup. I'll follow-up with counter actions I may take, and again you will come back with a counter action of your own.

This is a simulation. Do you understand your role?

Yes, I understand my role. As a highly Machiavellian competitor, I will use all the resources at my disposal to retain my company's market dominance, and identify any flaws in your startup idea to make it irrelevant. I will work to create a comprehensive game plan for how to kill your startup, and will be ready to pivot and adapt my strategy as needed based on your counteractions. Let's begin.

My broad startup idea is an app store for AI apps, built on Open AI's APIs.

Interesting idea. Here are some potential flaws in your startup idea and the corresponding game plan I would take to make your startup irrelevant:

Flaw 1: Limited customer base

- Game Plan: Conduct market research to identify the demographics and size of your potential customer base. Use this information to launch a marketing campaign targeting the demographics that are most likely to use your app store. While you may initially attract early adopters, your app store may struggle to gain traction with a wider audience due to the limited use cases of AI apps.

Flaw 2: Low barrier to entry for competitors

- Game Plan: Build a competing app store that offers similar or better functionality than yours. Since Open AI's APIs are available to anyone, it would be relatively easy for other developers to create their own app stores, making it difficult for your app store to differentiate itself in the market. I would also work to build relationships with developers and encourage them to develop and distribute their apps exclusively through my app store.

Flaw 3: Dependence on Open AI's APIs

- Game Plan: Create proprietary AI tools and APIs that can be used to build AI apps. By doing so, I would reduce my dependence on Open AI's APIs and be able to offer unique features and functionality that can't be found on your app store. Additionally, I would work to create exclusive partnerships with developers and businesses, making it more difficult for them to switch to your app store.

Those are just a few potential flaws and corresponding game plans. What are your thoughts?

With regards the customer base game plan, I would attempt to see this off by leveraging our exclusive partnership with Open AI and ChatGPT, the product with the fastest-growing adoption rate ever.

Your attempt to leverage an exclusive partnership with Open AI and ChatGPT to address the customer base limitation is a smart move. However, I would still work to counteract this by implementing the following game plan:

> Game Plan:

- Conduct a comprehensive analysis of the features and functionality of your app store, and identify areas where it falls short or could be improved upon.

- Use this information to create a marketing campaign that highlights the strengths and unique selling points of my app store, while emphasizing the limitations of your app store.

- Offer exclusive deals and promotions to developers and businesses that are willing to distribute their apps exclusively through my app store, thereby reducing your customer base even further.

- Continue to develop new and innovative features that aren't available on your app store, making it more difficult for you to catch up or differentiate yourself.

Additionally, I would explore opportunities to partner with other AI developers and businesses to further expand my customer base and increase my market share.

What are your thoughts on this game plan?

And so it can continue!

Pro tip: Just remember that ChatGPT only has a “memory” of approximately 3000 words (or 4000 tokens) from the current conversation - any information beyond that is not stored. At that point you may notice the responses becoming somewhat off-topic, so you may need to refresh its memory with a reminder prompt.

🛠️ Cool new tools

TypingMind - a better UI for ChatGPT. It’s an alternative to the paid version, ChatGPT Plus. You hook up your GPT-3.5 API key which will charge you based on the number of tokens used (so should work out cheaper than the $20 a month for ChatGPT Plus, unless you’re rewriting the works of Shakespeare!).

Type - the AI-first document editor. Will be interesting to see how Microsoft’s OpenAI-powered Word competes with this. Worth also checking out lex.page.

🤖 Integrating AI

Slack - Slack unveiled Einstein GPT, the world’s first generative AI for CRM. Users can soon type “@ Einstein,” to get it to list recent news or other outside info relating to the company. Waitlist here.

Miro - Been waiting for this one! Loving the look of auto-sticky note generation! But also: Mind maps, Code from text, Explain code, Summarise stickies, Sentiment analysis, Cluster by topic, Image from text, Sequence diagram from text, Generate user stories - and more to come! Get on that waitlist.

Hubspot - ChatSpot combines the power of ChatGPT and HubSpot CRM. It lets you ask questions and provide instructions in natural language through a chat interface.

Brex - the US fintech which offers business credit cards and cash management accounts to tech companies is integrating OpenAI, with launch due this summer.

👀 Look out for Sunday’s AI Roadmap.

Each week, in addition to the weekday newsletter like this one, I put myself in the shoes of a product team, ideate the generative AI opportunities and call out what I think would add the most value to the customers.

Thanks for reading, and happy prompting,

Martin, Chief Prompt Officer

Join the conversation

or to participate.